Home Features Screenshots Download Support History

About the Authors

William Hinsberg

Bill is founder and Principal of Columbia Hill Technical Consulting in Fremont, California. He received his BS in Chemistry from the University of Michigan and his PhD in Chemistry from the California Institute of Technology. Following postdoctoral work at Stanford University, and a research position at Chevron Research, Bill joined IBM's General Products Division, working in thin-film process chemistry for magnetic recording devices. Soon after, he moved to IBM's Research Division, serving twice as manager of the Lithography Materials group at the IBM's Almaden Research Center. Four photoresists developed by Bill and co-workers have been used for the commercial manufacture of microelectronic devices. He has received a number of awards for his technical work, including the Leo J. Friend Award sponsored by the Industrial and Engineering Chemistry Section of the American Chemical Society, the American Institute of Chemical Engineers Northern California Section Research Project of the Year, the IBM Environmental Affairs Excellence Award, and the C. Grant Willson Award from the Society of Photo-optical Instrumentation Engineers. Bill led product development of the initial version of the ZipChip CE-ESI mass spectrometer interface, an instrument that received an R&D 100 Award in 2016. He served for five years as Associate Editor for the Journal of Vacuum Science and Technology. Bill has authored or co-authored over 150 scientific articles and is an inventor on 38 US Patents.

Frances Houle

Frances is a Senior Scientist in the Chemical Sciences and Molecular Biophysics and Integrated Bioimaging Divisions at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. She is Deputy Director of the Liquid Sunlight Alliance Energy Innovation Hub and Thrust Lead in the Center for High Precision Patterning Science Energy Frontier Research Center. Her scientific interests are in the areas of coupled reaction-transport processes in solar energy conversion systems and their components, and chemical modification of polymer, nanoparticle, semiconductor, and metal interfaces, surfaces and films using novel experimental and computational techniques. She received the BA from the University of California at Irvine and the PhD from the California Institute of Technology, both in chemistry. Her prior appointments include Research Staff Member in the IBM Research Division in San Jose, California, Manager of Materials Development at InVisage Technologies, a startup company making nanoparticle-based image sensors that is now part of Apple Corporation, and Deputy Director for Science and Research Integration of the Joint Center for Artificial Photosynthesis, LBNL. She has received numerous awards including a 2022 R&D100 Award, the 2009 American Vacuum Society John A. Thornton Memorial Award and Lecture, the 1999 American Institute of Chemical Engineers Northern California Section Research Project of the Year, and the 1998 IBM Environmental Affairs Excellence Award. She is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and Fellow of the AVS, and member of the American Chemical Society, the Electrochemical Society and the Materials Research Society. She has been active in professional service, and is currently member of several scientific advisory boards. She has over 170 publications and 28 issued US patents.

© Columbia Hill Technical Consulting (2020) - All rights reserved